Side project for the holidays

Please do not think that I have given up on my 500 stitches project. I have not. I am just in the middle of two different projects. More on them in future posts.

Anyway, in my office we have a secret gift exchange for the holidays. Sine I am awful at wrapping gifts, I decided to add a little crochet to the gift. I made a small bag. One of my co-workers loved the bad so much, she asked me to make one for her. This is a design I created myself so feel free to tinker with it (and correct it) as need be. These are the instructions for the second bag I made, not the one that was part of the holiday gift.

I started with cotton yarn – my preferred yarn for bags. I used Lily brand Sugar ‘n Cream. The color is called Natural Stripes (color number 21010, lot number 351242. Here is a pic of the yarn:

natural-stripes

The color is a combination of white pink and brown. This yarn calls for an H hook. I used almost a full ball (95 yds) for this pattern. You can use any yarn and corresponding hook that you prefer to get the size bag you want.

So I started with 23 ch.
Row 1: DC in 4th ch. dc in each ch until the last ch. 3dc in last ch. now dc along the bottoms of the row you just completed. When you reach the last ch, 3dc. Sl st in the first dc. The result is an oval of dc’s.

Row 2: Ch 3 (which counts as your 1st dc) , dc in each dc all around and then sl st in ch3. Be sure you have the same number of stitches as the prior row. You want this the expand upward not outward.

Row 3: Repeat row 2. (If you want a tighter base for the bottom few rows, I.e more than the first 2, repeat row 3, but decrease the numbered of additional rows after row 5)

Row 4: ch 4. Tc in each dc all around and then sl st in ch 4. Again be sure you have the same number of stitches as the prior row.

Row 5: ch 4. Tc in each tc all around and then sl st in ch 4. Again be sure you have the same number of stitches as the prior row.

Rows 6-9: repeat row 5.

You can add more rows until you get the height that you want.

Row 10: ch 1, dc in each stitch all around (I had 48 stitches). sl st in beginning of row.

Row 11: repeat row 10.

Row 12: ch 1, sc in next 6 st. Chain 45. Skip 12 st. Sc in next stitch to attach handle. Sc in next 11 st. Chain 45. Skip 12st. Sc in next stitch to attach handle. Sc in next 5 st. This should bring you to beginning. Sl st in first st.

Row 13: ch 1. Dc in each stitch including along the handles. Sl st once you get to beginning and then fasten off.

Here is my finished product:

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/686/76159326/files/2014/12/img_0031.jpg

This is a really easy to make and easy to adapt.

Enjoy and happy holidays.

Leave a Reply

