“Hip Market Bag” – Stitch 264 adjusted and Stitch 9

While browsing my local AC Moore with a virtual coupon in my pocket, I came across one of this free patterns they hang near the various yarns: http://www.acmoore.com/projects/projects-yarn-and-needlecraft/crochet/premier-yarns-deborah-norville-hipster-crochet-market-bag.html (not sure if this link is still valid). I enjoy crocheting market bags and tote bags so I took the pattern.

Some weeks later, with another virtual coupon in hand, I finally purchased the yarn to make this bag: 

 

It is 100% cotton. I don’t know the actual brand. It was one of those “mills end” packages which contains 1 pound of yarn. With a 40-50% off coupon, packages of yarn like this are a great deal.

Because this pattern is lengthy, I am only posting the changes that I made to it. I used an H hook. The highlighted stitch which appears in a modified form is stitch 264 which is a cross-over stitch. This stitch entails skipping a stitch, cd in the next st and then going back to doc in the skipped stitch. For this bag, there are rows where on skips a st, cc in next 3 st and then doc in the skipped stitch. Here is a close up of what it looks like:

Above and below those rows is stitch 9 which consists of sc in one st, ch 1, sk st, then sc – repeat. The row after that would continue such that the sc would be in the ch1 space and the sc would be skipped.

I followed the pattern as written until I reached the end. For the next to last row before starting the strap, I ch1 and the sc in each st. I also 2sctog in last st to make sure I had an even number of stitches. I joined the end with a sl st.

##For the next row, I sl st in the next 53 st. Then I sc in the next 13 st. This is the start of the strap. I prefer to work the strap into the crocheting of the body instead of attaching it later.  In this case, you can see later where and how it was attached to one side. After those 13 sc, I chain 3, *sk st, doc in next 3 st, doc in the skipped st.* repeat from * to * until last st. Dc in last st. Turn

Ch 1, sc in each st, turn.

Ch 3, *sk st, dc in next 3 st, dc in the skipped st.* repeat from * to * until last st. Dc in last st. Turn

Repeat these 2 rows until the strap is about 26 inches long. Here is what part of the strap looks like.

 

You will the attach the strap to the other side before the first sl st back at ##. I used a row of sc.  You may need to add a row of sc to end up on the side. Sl st the rest of the way around and fasten off.

Here is a close up of the attached side.

Here is the final product.

  


2 thoughts on ““Hip Market Bag” – Stitch 264 adjusted and Stitch 9

Leave a Reply

