Pink Picot Gift Bag – Stitch 295

I find it somewhat surprising how quickly I can crochet these small gift bags. I recently sorted through my stash of yarns and realized I had several balls of Bernat Handicrafter ultra soft cotton yarn in French Rose.

I flipped open my book of many stitches and came across #295. It looked like it might work so I thought I would give it a try.  This yarn calls for a 4.5 mm hook, which would be an H hook, but I grabbed a G hook by mistake and stuck with it. Image the base a little wider because of the smaller hook.

Round 1: 8 sc in a magic circle. Sl st to join. Pull the circle tight.

Round 2: ch1, 2 sc in each sc. 16 st. Sl st to join

Round 3: ch 1, *2sc in first sc, sc in next sc, repeat from * to start, sl st to join. 24 sc

Round 4: ch 1, *2sc in 1st sc, sc in next 2 sc, repeat from * to start, sl st to join. 32 sc
Round 5: ch 1, *2sc in 1st sc, sc in next 3 sc, repeat from * to start, sl st to join. 40 sc

Round 6 and 7: ch 1, hdc in each sc, sl st to join.

Now to start this pattern. The picot will consist of ch3 sl st in 3rd ch from hook.

Round 8: ch 1, sc in each st, sl st to join.

Round 9: ch 1, sc in 1st 2 sc,*picot, sc in next 3 sc, repeat from *. You will end with sc in last 2 stitches.

Round 10: Ch6 (counts as tr, ch2), *tr in sc between 2 picot – it will be in the middle sc between the picot- ch2′ repeat from * end with tr in last sc.

Round 11: ch 1, sc in each tr and 2sc in each ch 2 space around whole bag ending with sc in 4th ch of turning chain.

Rounds 12-17: repeat rounds 9-11.

Round 18: ch1, sc in next 10 sc, 25 ch, skip 10 st, sc in next 10 sc, ch 25, skip 10 sc, sc to start of round. Sl st to join.

Round 19: ch1, sc in 1st st, sc in next 9 sc, sc in the 25 ch space. I got 25 sc, sc in next 9 sc, 25 sc in the ch 25 space Sl st to join.

Fasten off and weave in any ends.
Finished project and the left over cotton yarn.



If you like my work, please follow my blog.
.

Leave a Reply

