Scrap buster – pattern 431

I decided to look in my stash and see what yarn I could use for the uKNITe project. I found this old skein of pastel variegated acrylic (the color was called pastel ombre). Here is the yarn.

 If you can’t tell from the photo, the yarn is pastel blue, pink, yellow and green. I had more of it when I started – a skein of 2.5 oz (70 grams) of worsted weight yarn. I used an H hook.

For this pattern, there are front post dc’s (FPdc), back post dc’s (BPdc), and a combo stitch consisting of (2dc’s, ch1, 2dc’s) all in the same stitch. In this posting, I will refer to it as a 2-2dc fan.

I started with a sc foundation chain of 24 stitches.

Row 1: ch3 (serves as dc) , *skip 2 st, “2-2dc fan”, skip 2 st, dc, repeat from * ending with dc. Turn.

Row 2: ch3 (serves as dc), * “2-2dc fan” in the ch1 skipping any stitches in the interim, skip 2 st, BPdc, repeat from * ending with dc in the turning chain. Turn.

Row 3: same as row 2 except that instead of BPdc, it will be FPdc to create the cable-like design on one side.

Repeat rows 2-3 for the pattern.

Of course, I ran out of the yarn too soon. So I had to use some variegated acrylic yarn that was pink, yellow and white. When that ran out, I moved on to the solid yellow acrylic yarn and when that small supply ran out, I switched to pink. They can be seen in this photo:


I could not use pastel yarn in this picture because it was too thin.

To finish off this project (primarily because I ran out of yarn), my final two rows were as follows:

Next to last row: ch 1,  hdc (do not skip the first st), *hdc, sc, sc, sc, hdc, hdc; this last hdc should be in the dc post stitch; repeat from * end with sc in the turning chain. Turn.

Last row: if I had enough yarn, I would have ch 1 then sc across, but I did not have enough so instead I ch1 then sl st across. Fasten off and weave in the ends.

Final product below- one shot of the scarf folded and the other is a close up of the pattern. It ended up being only 36 inches long. The moral of story make sure you have enough yarn! 😁


Leave a Reply

