Little purple gift bag – pattern 273

I made another quick gift bag for my friend’s canning of preserved and such. I went back to the purple cotton yarn that I used recently- Premier Home cotton yarn, color Violet Splash (number 44-23). In case you forgot what it looks like, here is a picture of the yarn:


It has been some time since I made this bag. I also gave it to my friend before I took a picture of it. I can’t give you any specs about it since I can’t find where I wrote it down while I was making it. I probably tossed it once it was finished. I can, tell you that a started with a circle base. When it was finished, it was probably 24 stitches in total.  I then probably added 2 rows of sc around to start giving it some height before I started the pattern in earnest.

The pattern uses X-stitches which are made as follows: YO twice, insert hook in next stitch, YO, draw through the stitch, YO and draw through 2 loops only (leaving 3 loops on hook). Skip 2 stitches, YO, insert hook in next st, YO, draw yarn through the stitch, YO, Draw through 2 loops. Keep repeating the YO and draw through 2 loops until only 1 loop left. Ch 2, YO, insert hook in 2 strands at center of the cluster that you just made with all that drawing through 2 loops, draw through st, YO, draw through 2 loops. YO and draw through 2 more loops to finish the stitch and end up with only 1 loop on the hook. That’s the x-stitch. Once you get the hang of it, it is pretty easy.

Here is the basic pattern (after the circle and the 2 rows of sc):

Row 1: Ch4, Starting with next st, crochet an x-stitch Keep creating x-stitches until you reach the end of the row, tr in last stitch. Sl st to join.

Row 2: Ch1: sc in 1st stitch (that would be the top of the Ch 4 from the prior row. In the ch 2 space in the x-stitch, crochet hdc,dc,hdc, sc in space between the 2 x-stitches from prior row. Repeat pattern across until you get to last st. sc in last st. sl st to join.

Row 3: Ch 4 (counts as tr). You will make x-stitches across like you did for row 1 except instead of skipping 2 st, you will skip three. The x-stitches are “anchored” on either end of the hdc,dc,hdc grouping with the next x-stitch starting in the  same st that the last one ended. When you get to the end, you will tr. sl st to join.

Repeat rows 2 and 3 until get to the desired height ending with a Row 3..

Now I am guessing that I did next. I probably Ch1, then sc all around putting 2 sc in the ch-2 spaces.

I then would have crocheted handles in the same style as several other gift bags that I made recently.

Sorry no picture of the final project.

Leave a Reply

