Scrubby Yarn project

Some months ago, I received a e-mail about this new yarn by Red Heart called Scrubby.It is a polyester yarn that looks like a cross between an eyelash yarn and barbed wire. The email included several sample patterns and I thought it wold be interesting to try to make the shower scrubber. So I bought 2 skeins of coconut Scrubby yarn (ID# E833_0010) and a H-hook and took it from there. (I used coupons from AC Moore)

The only change I made to the pattern concerned was the handles. I try to make things in as few strands as possible. Instead of following the instructions which would me have fastening off and attaching the handles, here is what I did:

1- Chain the requisite number of chains for the handle as indicated by the instructions.

2- Sc across the end of the piece which takes you back to the start of the handle.

3- Sc along the handle to give the handle some thickness.

4- Sc down one side of the piece putting 2 sc in each dc or starting chain. This brings you to the other end.

5- Repeat steps 1 through 4 to complete the other 2 sides.

Fasten off.

 

Here are some photos of the yarn and the finished project.


My husband Phil likes it.

Leave a Reply

