Pillow 

I had purchased a skein of Stitch Studio Belle yarn at AC Moore. The color is Carolina Sky. For $5 I purchased 263 yds of this Super bulky yarn.  Instead of using my usual book of patterns, I tried to make a pillow using a stitch pattern I saw in a different book which I borrowed from the library.

The book was The Photo Guide to Crochet, 2nd Edition: *All You Need to Know to Crochet *The Essential Reference for Novice and Expert Crocheters … Instructions for 220 Stitch Patterns by Margaret Hubert. The pattern consists of sc and FPdc. The following pattern used up the whole skein and more yarn that I already had in that same color and thickness. The extra yarn I had started about the size of a softball and when I finished it was the size of a baseball, maybe a bit smaller. For this project I used an m hook. Of course you will also need fiber-fill or something to stuff in the pillow.

Ch 32
Row 1: Ch 1, sc across (32 sc) turn.

Row 2: Ch 1, sc in each sc across, turn.

Row 3: Ch 1, sc in next 2 sc, *1 FPdc around the post of next sc two rows below, 1 sc in each of next 2 sc, rep from * across, turn.

Row 4: Ch 1, sc in each st across, turn.

Row 5: Ch 1, sc next 2st, *1 FPdc around the post of next dc two rows below, 1 sc in each of the next 2 sc, rep from * across, turn.

Rep Rows 4 and 5 for pattern.

I repeated it 16 more times. End with a row 4. Fasten off.

My piece was 14 inches X 14 inches.

Repeat the process again to create a similar sized square but don’t fasten off.

Line up the 2 squares so that the ridged sides face ou and facing the direction. Sc along three sides putting 3 sc in the corners. Once three sides are completed, start stuffing. Once filled, sc across the finished product. Fasten off and sew in any stray yarn.

Here are photos of the yarn and the completed pillow.


I must be honest. I must have screwed up the gauge when I made the second side. I crocheted fewer rows but it was roughly the same size. So I stopped and attached the sides.

Leave a Reply

