Housewarming gift for my sister – Pattern 23

Several months ago (about 6), I thought I would make a little housewarming gift for my sister who is moving into a new apartment.  AC Moore had their store brand, stitch studio by nicole, on sale. The sweet puff chenille yarn was on sale of $1 each. I bought 12 skeins of Lavender Rose Dessert (No. 2772) to make a quick throw.

The pattern is basically a series of 7 dcs followed by ch-2, skip 2 st to make an empty space 2st wide. The spaces are staggered.  Some rows start or end with less than 7dcs.

I usually do not worry about gauge, but I found I got about 3 rows (+ or – a few stitches) per 44 yd (40 m) skein. Each skein weighed 3.5 oz (100g).  Each row was about 1 inch high.  Some quick math made me think that the 12 skeins would only result in a piece that was 36 inches long (not long enough).

So I went to the store a few days later and looked for some more of the same yarn. Of course they were totally out of stock. So I had to buy something that was as close as possible and not be a different variegated yarn. So, using my 55% off coupon, I bought 1 skein (258 yds) of stitch studio by nicole  Chateau yarn, color Iris (No. 2805) which was a pale lavender. not the best match, but better than the other choices I had.

So I decided to crochet 1 block of the first yarn of 6 skeins, then 1 block of the paler yarn followed by the remainder of the original colors.

Just to warn you, this is a long pattern (NB I completed this project a few months ago and never got around to posting it. I think the pattern as I typed it was correct – if there are things that I forgot, I am sorry).

I started off with ch 93 (multiple of 9 +3).

Again, it is a series of 7dc, ch 2, skip 2. When you reach a ch-2 space from a prior row, you crochet 2 dc into the space uless directed otherwise. Off we go…

Row 1: Dc in 4th chain from hook (counts as dc), dc in next 2 st, ch2, sk 2, *dc in each of next 7 st, ch 2, sk 2, repeat from *, end with dc in each of last 5 st. Turn.

Row 2: Ch 3 (counts as dc), skip 1st st, dc in next 4 st, 2 dc in ch-2 space, ch2, sk 2, *dc in each of next 7 st, ch 2, sk 2, repeat from *, end with a single dc. Turn

Row 3:  Ch 3 (counts as dc), skip 1st st, dc in next 6 st (including 2 dc in ch-2 space), ch2, sk 2, *dc in each of next 7 st, ch 2, sk 2, repeat from *, end with a single dc. Turn

Row 4:  Ch 3 (counts as dc), skip 1st st, dc in ch-2 space, ch2, sk 2 (don’t forget to include one of the ch in the ch-2 space as one of the skipped st), *dc in each of next 7 st, ch 2, sk 2, repeat from *, end with 6 dc. Turn

Row 5: Ch 3 (counts as dc), skip 1st st, dc in each of next 2 st, ch2, sk 2, *dc in each of next 7 st, ch 2, sk 2, repeat from *, end with 5 dc. Turn

Row 6: Ch 3 (counts as dc), skip 1st st, dc in each of next 5 st, ch2, sk 2, *dc in each of next 7 st, ch 2, sk 2, repeat from *, end with 2 dc. Turn

Row 7: Ch 4 (counts as dc, ch1), skip 2st, 2dc in ch2 space, dc in each of next 5 st, ch2, sk 2, *dc in each of next 7 st, ch 2, sk 2, repeat from *, end with 2dc in ch2 space and then dc in last 7 st. (yes I know thats 8, but you can’t end with a space) Turn

Row 8: Ch 5 (counts as dc, ch2), skip 3 st, *dc in each of next 7 st, ch 2, sk 2, repeat from *, end with 6 dc. Turn

Row 9: Ch 3 (counts as dc), skip 1st st, dc in each of next 4 st, ch2, sk 2, *dc in each of next 7 st, ch 2, sk 2, repeat from *, end with 2 dc. Turn

Row 10: Ch 3 (counts as dc), skip 1st st, dc in each of next 4 st, ch2, sk 2, *dc in each of next 7 st, ch 2, sk 2, repeat from *, end with 3 dc. Turn

Row 11: repeat row 8 except it will end with 7 dc. Turn

Row 12: repeat row 7.

Row 13: repeat row 6.

Row 14: repeat row 5 (I goofed when I did this row and did not realize it until several rows later but I was not pulling out more than 1 skein of yarn to fix it. It really was not noticeable) I ended with 4 dc at end instead of 5.

Row 15: Repeat row 4. (my screw up on row 14 meant I had to adjust row 15 as well, but I still ended up with 6 dc at end of row.

Row 16: repeat row 3

Row 17: repeat row 2

Row 18: Ch 3 (counts as dc), skip 1st st, 2dc in ch 2 space, ch2, sk 2, *dc in each of next 7 st, ch 2, sk 2, repeat from *, end with 2 dc. Turn

Join new color

Row 19: Ch3 (counts as dc), skip 1st st, dc in each st and 2dc in each ch 2 space across (91 st)

And now to start the 2nd pattern

Row 20: ch1, sc in 1st st, *ch 3, skip 2 st, dc in each of next 5 st, ch3, skip 2 st, sc in next st, repeat from *, turn.

Row 21: ch 5(counts as dc, ch 2), skip the ch3 and sc in each of the 5 dc, *ch 2, skip ch and dc in sc, ch2, skip ch, sc in each of 5 dc, repeat from * ending with dc in sc. turn.

Row 22: Chain 3 (counts as dc), *2dc in ch-2 space, ch3, sc in middle sc of the 5sc series, ch3, 2dc in next ch 2 space, dc in dc, repeat from *, ending with dc in ch2 space, and dc in turning chain.Turn

Row 23: Ch1, sc in each of 3 dc, *ch2, skip ch, dc in sc, sk ch, sc in each of 5 dc, repeat from * ending with sc in last 2 dc and in turning ch. Turn.

Row 24:  ch1, sc in 1st st, *ch 3, skip 2 st, dc in each of next 5 st, ch3, skip 2 st, sc in next st, repeat from *, turn.

Row 25-33  repeat rows 21-24 ending with row 21.

Row 34: Ch1, sc across with 1 sc in each sc 2sc in each ch-3 space. Turn

This used up almost the entire large skein of the second yarn.

Now back to the first pattern:

Row 35 onward: I think I followed from row 2 again through 18.

When I was finished, I sc along each side making sure to switch to the middle color where appropriate and sc across the top and bottom.

Here is the finished product.

Some close up shots:

And the yarn for 2/3 of the blanket. Didn’t get a picture of the other yarn.

 

 

Leave a Reply

