The matching scarf (stitch417)

I recently crocheted a baby blanket for my sister to give as a gift at a baby shower. Since  had left over yarn (I did this before I made the blue hats seen here), I thought I would make a scarf that the mother could wear when she used the blanket for her baby.

Although I used the same yarn as before, I did not want to use the exact same stitch, so I used a similar dropped stitch pattern.

I started with 18 ch.

Row 1: Sc in 2nd chain from hook and sc across (17 st)

Row 2: Ch 3 (counts as dc), skip 1st st, dc in next st, *ch 1, skip 1 st, dc on each of next 5 st, repeat from * across, ending with dc in last 2 st.

Row 3:Ch 3 (counts as dc), skip 1st st, dc in next st, *over the ch1 space  dc in the row below, dc in each of 2 next to st,  ch 1, skip 1 st, dc in each of next 2 st, repeat from * across ending with dc in last 2 st.

Row 4: Ch 3 (counts as dc), skip 1st st, dc in next st, *ch 1, skip 1 st, dc on each of next 2 st, over the ch1 space dc in the row below, dc in each of 2 next to st, ch 1, skip 1 st, dc in each of next 2 st, repeat from * across ending with dc in last 2 st.

Repeat rows 3 and 4 until the scarf is desired length.

I made it about 4 feet in length. (If I remember correctly)  The final row followed the pattern except I replaced the dc with sc and the dropped sc with a dropped hdc.

I finished it off with fringe of 2 strands on yarn in each stitch at each end.

Here is the final result (its been folded in half for the photo):

part0-2

Leave a Reply

