500?!? – No, not finished yet.

I have not completed all 500 stitches in my book.  i jut decided to take care of number 500 that’s all. Number 500 is the Tunisian stitch.  I decided not to do the Tunisian stitch set forth in the book. Instead I used “Method 3” of three methods explained in this video by the Crochet Crowd

I used the Premier Yarn called “Sweet Roll” in the color Ice Pop (No. 1047-20). The yarn package calls for an I hook. From what I learned watching the video, I needed to up the size hook 2-3 mm larger – hence the L hook. I bought the yarn at the newest AC Moore in Philadelphia (#ACMooreonBroad) using coupons that I had. I was going to use the L hook from a set I bought on eBay quite some time ago where the hooks had long plastic ends specifically to be used for Tunisian crocheting. However, after several attempts, I decided to use a regular L hook because the scarf I was making was not going to be that wide.

Here is the yarn as purchased,

FullSizeRender 28

I started out this scarf with ch 16. Then I followed method 3 to get 15 stitches across. I kept crocheting this stitch until the scarf was about 63 inches long.

When I got to the end, I switched to the i hook that the yarn usually requires so that the space left by the last row would not be too big. After the last row, I single crocheted in each stitch across to end it off. Then it was once around with sc for a quick border along the entire scarf.

This scarf looked like it needed fringe, so I added some.

Here is the completed scarf. It only took 1 skein of the yarn. However, if one were to make a wider scarf, one would need a second skein.

FullSizeRender 27

Leave a Reply

