Baby Blanket – Number 51

A friend and her husband are expecting. For me, this means another blanket that I am making.  I wanted to give the Premier Yarns Sweet Roll yarn another try.  This time the color was Gelato Pop , which alternates between white, blue and purple.  My friend knows that she is having a girl, but I thought these colors would work with either gender. Here is what the roll looks like.


I bought 6 balls of this yarn. Each has 245 yards of yarn. This project used 5 balls. The final result measured 45 x 34.

While I like the idea of the yarn making changes in color so you do not have to swap out colors to make stripes, without knowing exactly how many stitches you will get in each color can be frustrating. Also, it was not always the same amount of yarn per color per roll. So, my use of this yarn was definitely not for someone with OCD.

Row 1: I started by chaining 130. The pattern requires multiples of 6 + 4 which would be 129 chains. However I like to start not with a row of chains but a row of sc. I then sc from the 2d chain from the hook to get my base row of 129 st.

Row 2: ch 1, (sc, ch 1, dc) in first sc, *skip 1 st, (sc, ch 1, dc) in next st, repeat from * across, end with sc. turn

Row 3: ch 3 (counts as dc), *dc in the ch1 space, dc in the sc, repeat from *, end row with dc in last st. Remember that you are not crocheting in the dc from the prior row. Turn.

Row 4: ch 1, (sc, ch 1, dc) in first st, *skip 1 st, (sc, ch 1, dc) in next st, repeat from * across, end with sc. Turn.

Repeat rows 3 and 4 until you get the size you want. I thought it looked better ending with row 3. Fasten off.

Here is a partial shot of the final product.


 

One thought on “Baby Blanket – Number 51

Leave a Reply

