Stitch 104 to modify a vase and became a gift bag

Many months ago, I was giving flowers to my husband while he was in the hospital. I needed a vase in which to present them, but the one I had was a rather boring orange glass. So I brightened it up a bit with some cotton yarn and stitch 104. (You will note that I did not include the color of the yarn. That is because, by the time I got to finalizing this post, I had misplaced the rest of the yarn.)

I started with a magic circle of 6 sc.

I then increased each row until there were 36 sc in total.

Row 1: ch 1, sc in each st around, sl st at end (36 sc)

Row 2: ch 1, sc in each st around, sl st at end (36 sc)

Row 3: ch 1, sc in each st around EXCEPT 2sctog on last 2 st, sl st at end (35 sc)

Row 4: ch 1, sc in each st around, sl st at end (35 sc)

Now for the pattern:

Row 5: Ch 4 (counts as dc, ch 1), skip st, *dc in next st, skip 2 st, 5 dc in next st, skip 2 st**, (dc, ch 1, skip 1) 3 times, dc, in the next st, repeat from *; you will end  the last repeat at the **; you finish up the row with dc, ch 1, skip 1, dc, turn.

Row 6: Ch 4 (counts as dc, ch 1), skip ch1 space, *dc in next 7 st**, ch 1 (skip st, dc, ch 1) 2 times, repeat from * across ending with **, ch 1, skip 1 st, dc at the end, turn.

Row 7: Ch 5 (counts as dc, ch 2), skip ch 1 space and next dc, * dc in next 5 st, ch 2, skip next st and the ch1 space **, dc, ch 1, skip ch 1, dc, ch 2, skip ch 1 space and next dc, repeat from * ending at **, dc, turn.

Row 8: Ch 6 (counts as dc, ch 3), skip  2 ch-1 spaces and next dc, * dc in next 3 st, ch 3, skip next st and the 2 ch-1 spaces **, dc, ch 1, skip ch 1, dc, ch 3, skip 2 ch-1s space and next dc, repeat from * ending at **, dc, turn.

Row 9: Ch 7 (counts as dc, ch 4), skip  3 ch-1 spaces and next dc, * dc in next st, ch 4, skip next st and the 3 ch-1 spaces **, dc, ch 1, skip ch 1, dc, ch 4, skip 3 ch-1s space and next dc, repeat from * ending at **, dc, turn.

You could repeat rows 5-9 if you were doing something taller. For this project, I only needed to do it once.

Row 10: ch 1: sc around putting 1 sc in each ch-1 space and 4 sc in each ch-4 space.

For the vase, I ended with a slip stitch and fastened off, If I could find the photo of the vase, i will post it in the future. For now, since we no longer have the vase, but do have what I created, I decided to convert it to a gift bag.

As I stated before I could not find any of the yarn that remained for this project, but I did have some orange cotton yarn, so I added handles as follows:

Row 11: sl st at any point to attach new yarn to project. sc in next 8 st, ch 16, skip 8 st, sc in next 9 st, ch 16, skip 8, sc on last st, sl st to join. Fasten off.

Here is the gift bag with an empty jar inside:

img_1347.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

